As a peace officer:

The Sheriff is charged with enforcing the laws enacted by the legislature and is the primary officer responsible for the providing patrol and traffic services on the county primary and secondary roads. The Sheriff is an Officer of the Court with responsibility for execution of orders, judgments, and civil process as well as maintenance of security for the court. The Sheriff is responsible for the establishment, maintenance and operation of the County Jail and ancillary services.

As an elected official:

The Sheriff is directly responsible to the citizens of the county for the provisions of effective and acceptable law enforcement services, as well as the safe and effective operation of the jail. In the delivery of these services, the Sheriff works in cooperation with the County Board of Commissioners and other elected and county department heads to provide these services in the most efficient, cost effective manner.


Baraga County Sheriff Firearm Disposition

Per M.C.L. section 28.434a

Firearms Disposition

Sheriff’s Office and Correctional Facility



Rick Johnson


Jim Gabe


Joe Brogan – Chief Deputy
Chad Soli
Fabian Kristo
Josh Barnett

Correction Officers

Shelley Lloyd
John Gransell
Bruce Tangen
Nancy Kent
Tyler Harkonen
Jonathon Boever
Klaire Fedie

Trystan Lahti



Jeffrey Hubbard – Homeland Security Director

Jeffrey Hubbard – 911 Director
Alison King – Animal Control Deputy



County Government

2 S. Main Street
L’Anse, MI 49946


Convention & Visitors Bureau

755 E. Broad Street
L’Anse, MI 49946


Chamber of Commerce

1 N. Main St.
L’Anse, MI 49946


Economic Development

1 N. Main St.
L’Anse, MI 49946

Contact Us